Plays Well with Others

My co-writer’s wife calls me his girlfriend. It’s endearing, yet hilarious because when we first started writing together, I used to be called his babysitter. Someone to share a beer and talk story while she watches “Bob’s Burgers” in peace. Now, we are writing together on this show.

Funny how even work-wives have a career ladder. Once our script is shot and sent out to the masses…I’ll be his writer baby-mama.

Shudder the thought.

Any creative team will tell you, a partnership is a lot like dating. I can honestly say that this is my first venture in the writing-match realm, and I am enjoying it. It’s nice to know I’m not the only crazy voice in my head.

If you do decide to write with someone, make sure you two are on the same page. haha. I’m so funny. But seriously. You are in this together, are you not? Why not communicate? Don’t refrain from showing your true side when it comes to the room. They liked you, even brought you on this project, for a reason. Even though it is between two writers, when you two get together, it’s a writer’s room. A safe place to make this show possible. So why not go a little crazy? It worked for Thelma and Louise.

Just, please, don’t drive your car over the edge of a canyon. I mean, hooray for sisterhood and all, but girl, you have a whole life ahead of you.

One thought on “Plays Well with Others

Leave a Reply

