Intention

What is your intention?

We ask ourselves this when we meditate, when we define the relationship, when we are being interviewed for that big job. It is a defining moment that will shape our practice, our relationships, our career. No matter where we are in our lives, our minds work best with a foundation. For me, breakfast is the holiest of all meals. Beat up some eggs, bust out the tater tots, the coffee, and I am ready to take on the day. We are creatures of habit.

Perhaps this is a speculating superstition, but, as a writer, I rely on rituals such as these to get me started. Because, the moment something goes amiss, my day is constantly feeling like Stella. She gotta get her groove back.

For the past eight months, I have had the privilege of working on a web-series with a great friend of mine. He was my first client working as a script consultant in LA. Who knew two years would go by, and we would be translating his feature script into a web-series! Over time, I have come to learn, sometimes by trial-and-error, what it’s like to write for a show. It may seem like blind leading the blind, but just take my hand and see where we can go together.

I’ll go into intention in my next entry. Right now, I just want to make my acquaintance with you all. My name is Pablo Diablo. I have been writing all my life, but nothing has prepared me for this adventure. It all begins with an intention, just before starting the great adventure ahead.  Before I do, I would like to share what has helped me with fellow writers. How to learn from one writer to another, and just where the first step lies: intention. All it takes is one thought. One word. One day at a time.

 

Leave a Reply

